Gura Nyuutou – FUTA MATA Ch. 01

Great Scott!

Has it already been over four months since I announced that I’d be working on this? Man, am I a procrastinator. But anyway, I’m really thankful to everyone that has been waiting patiently for this. I can’t express how surprised I am at the fact that no one really tried to rush me (even though I think by the second month mark, maybe someone should have). I hope that the next release won’t take nearly as long, though.

Some of the things in this chapter I have some issues with in terms of translation, though. Partially because I feel like I’m getting some kind of weird view of English because of the “Japanese” switch that I flip in my head while translating and partially because of the fact that some of Gura Nyuutou’s lines are downright weird, corny, or both. I’m actually thinking of trying out an idea of seeing if I should get someone to proofread the chapters a day before I release them. Of course, that would mean that there would be two possible issues:

  1. The release would come a day later.
  2. The person I select might possibly run off with the nearly finished product and release it of their own accord or not proofread it at all.

Of course, I suppose that if number 2 happened, it wouldn’t be too bad so long as they didn’t take the credit themselves (and in the case of them not proofreading it, I would just go ahead and release it).

I’m also wondering if I should open up some possible way for donations so that I might be able to buy some doujins while I’m in Japan if there are any futanari ones and then try (my first attempt) at scanning them in the States. Of course, this poses a few problems as well:

  1. I feel iffy about taking people’s money.
  2. I’m not sure if I will be able to get the doujins past customs.
  3. The scan quality might end up pretty bad since I would be new to scanning.

So, for now, I’m just stuck with wondering about these ideas. I only have 3 weeks left in Japan. Tohoho. Such little time to enjoy it. orz

Anyway, that’s enough of my ranting. Enjoy the release!:

http://depositfiles.com/en/files/kqwfac3sk
http://www.mediafire.com/?i9f6qxe6n3exjwm

11 responses to “Gura Nyuutou – FUTA MATA Ch. 01

  1. Eijhu July 1, 2011 at 2:47 AM

    Thank you VERY much for this chapter. I have to admit that I was starting to have some doubts if you were ever going to release this. … And that was back in April. ^_-

    Anyway: Thanks once again. Will you be translating more of this tankobon? If so: Please keep in mind that the magazine versions of chapters three and five have already been done by SaHa and Yuribou, respectively.)

    • Shinyuu July 1, 2011 at 4:21 AM

      I was wondering when in the world I was ever going to release it too. I’m one of those people who get really antsy when I let something just sit around festering for a while and feel guilty.

      But I do plan on doing more of the tankobon. I just hope it won’t take 4 months to get chapter 2 out since, at that rate, it would be better for someone else to do it.

  2. Someone1001 July 1, 2011 at 2:58 AM

    You can always stop by LWB for a proofread. We’re not about to steal your project, and we have tons of guys ready to proofread. You can also get translation help, when you’re unsure of something. It’s rather a good deal. :P

    Anyway, thanks for this!

    • Shinyuu July 1, 2011 at 4:22 AM

      That reminds me that I have a project that I said I was going to translate a while back as well. Man, I should keep track of these things better. orz

  3. JukanX July 1, 2011 at 3:01 AM

    Thanks for the release.
    Gura Nyuuto stuff is hard to typeset, given his penchant for narrow vertical bubbles. I know first-hand because it took me two months to edit one chapter for Yuribou (okay, I took it very easy), only to have the USB key where I kept the work files stolen just after completion. Obviously I didn’t keep any backups because flash memory is reliable… Sigh.

    • Shinyuu July 1, 2011 at 4:27 AM

      Well, the bubbles aren’t too much of a hassle for me. The biggest time-killer is trying to translate his awkward lines and editing those hearts in. For some reason, I actually use the original heart marks from the raws in the translation and move them around to try and fit the original as much as possible. That and changing the fonts took about 5-7 hours even when I was done with the translation. But the editing and the translation probably take a good chunk of free time away since I’m just an amateur at both.

      But anyway, having all of the work stolen just after completion sounds awful. Especially after editing it for so long.

      • Someone1001 July 1, 2011 at 4:40 AM

        Hearts are actually pretty easy to deal with. Just a quick copy/paste to a new layer (set myself up an action to copy/paste a selection and return to the base layer to be used again without much hassle, if needed), clean out the bubble, and you’re free to move that heart around as much as you’d like.

      • Shinyuu July 1, 2011 at 4:49 AM

        I actually already do a copy+paste to a new layer (although I forgot that I could make an action of it). It’s just that moving around the heart and adjusting where they are along with the text takes quite a bit of time in the end. I don’t really mind it much when there’s just a few hearts here and there but Gura Nyuutou has them everywhere.

  4. alidan July 1, 2011 at 7:20 PM

    if you are looking for futa that is already scanned for new things to do, i have 2 k-on that i dont think were ever translated, hell, i have ALLOT that never got translated. i can send you what appear to be the best of them, and if you pick it up, ill do the editing for you, if you can handle the translating and typesetting, and id only send you the typesetting because the way i think looks good is never the way it should be.

    • Shinyuu July 2, 2011 at 10:49 AM

      Well, you can link me to what you’re talking about and I’ll see if I’ll be willing to translate it at the least.

  5. ayakashino July 3, 2011 at 6:37 PM

    Not many try to translate Gura Nyuutou-stuff, cheers mate

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

